ICELED

Welcome to the ICELED Forums!
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Tue May 21, 2019 5:51 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:43 pm 
Offline
1 Colour User
1 Colour User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Singapore
Hi Adrian,

$m[1]


My display module, the small little indicator has gone bust i think... It cant read when i press from 3 metres away anymore, now even one metre away it does not work... I have to literally press in front of it for it to work and change my settings...

Where do i place an order? I have a friend heading back to the UK and might ask him to help purchase it for me... So which link do i go to?


Also, what is the probable cause for this? is it maybe too much constant sunlight exposure could have caused this? Is it possible to make the outer casing much more solid so it can withstand heat/cold better?


Hit me at xyberz9@yahoo.com


thank u!

_________________
Blacknightz ---------> Rx-8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:36 am
Posts: 512
Location: Allen, Tx, USA
More likely its the battery in the remote.
Try replacing that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:17 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 7:55 pm
Posts: 3229
Location: Area 51
Like alienyoungjr says, it's much more likely to be the remote transmitter - simple enough to eliminate it anyway (by putting in a fresh battery). There's nothing to degrade with the remote display... direct sunlight would certainly interfere with the remote but only temporarily. Not a problem at night!

Even if a fresh battery didn't fix it I would still be looking more closely at the remote transmitter as the remote display simply isn't known to fade away like this. You could test the remote with other equipment if you put the right code in for your chosen device... this would be an excellent way of narrowing it down.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:53 pm 
Offline
1 Colour User
1 Colour User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Singapore
thanks alienyoungjr and especially Adrian... I have received ur email...

Most definately not the battery of the remote... I know itz weird but sometimes sh*t happens...

So how do i get my friend to order the display from u?



While i have ur attention, so the only thing that is updated is the scanner... what about the undercarriage lights? still the same as the old ones?

My tubes have faded... Not surez if i wanna buy new ones and replace them, so i dont have to sand the plastic tubes... Cutting the wires and then re-soldering them is possible rightz? how many wires are there inside the black wire?

If it is possible to cut and then re-solder the new tubes back, then it would be great as i dont have to dismantle the whole car and run the wires through the floor of the car again... And i'll just get my local LED guys to help me outz since im too old for this..

Let me know... And damn, this is still the best in the market out therez!!!!

Great Job Adrian and ICELED !!!!

_________________
Blacknightz ---------> Rx-8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:36 am
Posts: 512
Location: Allen, Tx, USA
The underglow kit has been updated with the new SMD LEDs.

Each fixture that ICE sells is only a three core wire. Positive(Red) Negative(Green) and Data(Blue).
You could just cut the wires shortly after each tube and then splice them together under the car.
I've done it that way to save time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:42 am 
Offline
1 Colour User
1 Colour User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Singapore
3 core wires !!!

how could i forget that... yes, thanks a million alienyoungjr for the reminder!!!

_________________
Blacknightz ---------> Rx-8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:00 pm 
Offline
1 Colour User
1 Colour User

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:18 am
Posts: 17
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
it's odd that you say green is negative. When I meter the wires, each wire has a positive voltage. Red is 12ish. green is 0.8ish blue is 3-4ish V.

that's odd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LED Display Module
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 7:55 pm
Posts: 3229
Location: Area 51
jmoddes \$m[1]:
it's odd that you say green is negative. When I meter the wires, each wire has a positive voltage. Red is 12ish. green is 0.8ish blue is 3-4ish V.

that's odd.

Not really, it all depends where in circuit you put your meter probes. Every conductor has some resistance no matter what gauge (unless it's a superconductor 8) ) so current flowing through it will cause a measurable volt-drop. I'm guessing you probed between power supply and the end of a 5m cable?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007. phpBB Group